2023 CT Youth State Open Championships – Tournament Recap

February 27, 2023 – TTWC had an outstanding showing at the 2023 CT Youth State Open yesterday. The prior week, TTWC qualified 26 wrestlers for the State Open. Yesterday, an incredible 20 of the 26 TTWC competitors placed. Even more impressively, TTWC had 12 Finalists across the three age divisions, coming away with 9 champions, the most of any Club in the State. It was, in the words of Head Coach Blair Tugman, a “good day.”

10U Division

The Club qualified five wrestlers for this division. Three – Sam Forman, Chris Weiner, and Arjan Singh – took home championships. Keegan Rosenschein wrestled back to 6th place. Coach Tugman was impressed with these young athletes. “The future is bright with these kids coming on like they did. Four total place winners and three grabbing the top of the podium. Imagine where they’ll be in five years. It’ll be awesome to watch.”

Top – Sam Forman is all smiles with Coach Tugman after his first State Championship.

Left – Chris Weiner atop the podium after his victory in the finals.

Bottom – Arjan Singh

12U Division

TTWC qualified ten wrestlers for the 12U Division and had 8 of its 10 athletes reach the podium, including a perfect 4 for 4 in the finals. TTWC’s 12U Division champions include Joey Cotter, Logan Bailey, Dawson McGrath, and Jaxson Konopka. The Club’s additional place winners in this division included AJ Stefano (3rd Place), Blake Vieira (4th Place), Jackson Robles (5th Place), and Noah Oliveira (6th Place).

Coach Tugman commented that this was, “a particularly tough Division. To have 80% of our athletes reach the podium is incredible. But to go 4 for 4 in the finals? That’s kind of crazy.”


Far Left – Jaxson Konopka

Left – Logan Bailey & Joey Cotter enjoying their victories.

Right – Dawson McGrath

Joey Cotter moments after winning his State Title.

Middle School Division

Team Tugman qualified 11 wrestlers for this Division and had 8 reach the podium. TTWC had five wrestlers reach the finals, with two – Antonio Arguello and Jaxsen Bailey – grabbing championships. Chase Kastner, Jake Fattibene and Chad Reed all finished second after wrestling terrific tournaments. Coach Tugman was pleased to have five finalists in the Middle School Division. “Five is an impressive number. I wish we went 5 for 5 but I’m still please with our results overall.”

Other place winners in the Middle School Division include Max Malitsky (3rd Place), Tristan Rosenschein (4th Place), and Cooper Myers (6th Place).

Jaxson Bailey
Antonio Arguello